

MEMORANDUM OF INTENT (MOI)

Between The

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF CARROLL COUNTY, MARYLAND And THE INCORPORATED MUNICIPALITIES OF

HAMPSTEAD, MANCHESTER, MOUNT AIRY, NEW WINDSOR, SYKESVILLE, TANEYTOWN, UNION BRIDGE, AND WESTMINSTER

For

JOINT PARTICIPATION IN COMPLYING WITH NATIONAL POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM (NPDES) MUNICIPAL SEPARATE STORM SEWER SYSTEM (MS4) REQUIREMENTS

WHEREAS, the incorporated Municipalities of Hampstead, Manchester, Mount Airy, New Windsor, Sykesville, Taneytown, Union Bridge, and Westminster are all located within the geographic boundary that defines Carroll County in Maryland; and

WHEREAS, the watersheds that carry stormwater runoff from those Municipalities all extend from their headwaters in central Carroll County through numerous tributaries forming the flow of the Gunpowder, Patapsco, and Monocacy Rivers, all which ultimately contribute to the Chesapeake Bay; and

WHEREAS, those watersheds contribute to the richness of the Chesapeake Bay region with its heritage, scenic beauty, and recreational resources while sustaining extensive forest resources as well as many acres of highly productive agricultural land and numerous viable and growing communities; and

WHEREAS, the Commissioners of Carroll County (herein called the County), as well as the Mayor and Council of each incorporated Municipality, have a legal responsibility to comply with conditions included in the NPDES MS4 Permit regulations (40 CFR 122.26 and COMAR 26.08.04), and Section 402 of the Clean Water Act; and

WHEREAS, the storm sewer systems often flow across jurisdictional boundaries; and

WHEREAS, Carroll County and the Municipalities of Hampstead, Manchester, Mount Airy, New Windsor, Sykesville, Taneytown, Union Bridge and Westminster (herein called Municipality/ies) recognize the benefits of sharing support services, information, and projects to meet these responsibilities; and

WHEREAS, Carroll County and the incorporated Municipalities have formed the Water Resources Coordination Council (WRCC) to provide a mechanism for cooperative problem solving of critical water resource management issues facing the County and municipalities, which includes coordinating efforts to meet the NPDES MS4 responsibilities; and

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the mutual benefits to be derived from joint participation in addressing and complying with the NPDES MS4 requirements, the parties agree as follows:

- 1. The County and the undersigned Municipalities agree to pursue joint participation in the current process for re-issuance of the County's Phase 1 NPDES MS4 permit.
- 2. The County and Municipalities propose to cost-share the funding of NPDES MS4 mitigation projects. The County proposes to contribute funds for 80 percent of each Municipality's costs; each Municipality will fund the remaining 20 percent of its costs.
- 3. The County agrees to continue to provide operating and administrative support for the NPDES MS4 program and compliance.
- 4. The WRCC will work with County staff to serve as the forum for setting of priorities for joint NPDES MS4 mitigation projects.
- 5. The County and the Municipalities agree to work cooperatively to formalize an operating agreement to implement this MOI.

Signed this 22d Day of April	, 2014.	
THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF CARROLL COUNTY, MARYLAND, A body corporate and politic of the State of Maryland	Mayor Christopher M. Nevin Town of Hampstead	(Seal)
David H. Roush, President (Seal)	Mayor Ryan Warner Town of Manchester	_(Seal)
Richard S. Rothschild, Vice President (Seal)	Mayor Patrick Rockinberg Town of Mount Alry	_(Seal)
Robin B. Frazier, Secretary (Seal)	Mayor Neal C. Roop Town of New Windsor	_(Seal)
J. Donglas Howard, Commissioner (Seal)	Mayor Ian/Shay Town of Sykesville	_(Seal)
Haven N. Shoemaker, Jr., Commissioner (Seal)	Mayor James L. McCarron, Jr. City of Taneytown	_(Seal)
	Mayor Perry V. Jones, Jr. Town of Union Bridge	_(Seal)
	Mayor Kevin R. Utz City of Westminster	_(Seal)
Approved for legal sufficiency:		
Timothy C. Burke		

County Attorney